Tags

, , , , , ,


Well, last night (after polishing off a bottle of cheap wine and a 6 pack of beer to celebrate a year of absolute shit), I had a such a shocking moment of insight about how to do my funeral that it gave me whiplash.

You see, for the past very many years I have been toting around a 5′ high singing dancing tuxedoed halloween skeleton that my ex and I picked up from Walmart.  It is one of the coolest, but most singularly useless, things I own.  Even in the face of all my recent minimalism, it never even occurred to me to get rid of it.  Now I’m glad I didn’t!

effigy2

This skeleton will be the centerpiece of my funeral, standing in effigy for me amidst a pile of those possessions most important to me and my sense of self.  When the day comes, it will be wearing some of the clothes that have meant most to me and the entire pile – books, mementos, notes, and history, will be set on fire.

And that will be that.

I’m still not sure…what to do about the viewing. Perhaps it will be broadcast on the web, perhaps others will be there in person, perhaps a mix of both. I don’t know. But in any case, party planning is coming together.

